Welcome to our online peer support community - A supportive place for anyone making change in their gambling, as well as concerned friends and family.
  • Connect, be inspired, motivate others. Share your experience & strategies.
  • Safe. Anonymous. Professionally moderated. Free of judgement.

Before you can post or reply, join our online community today.
    Join us Tuesdays from 6pm for Chatty Tuesday.
  • Feeling so bad..

For people making and maintaining change in their gambling. Connect, ask questions, offer advice, and share your story in here. If you are new to the site drop in and say hello!
    Laydar

Feeling so bad..

Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:35 pm

Hi this is my first time posting
    I'm so ashamed of myself and just feel so disgusted
    I got paid today and spent 3000 of it on the pokies before even reaching home... I managed to keep 600 only because my limit of withdrawal at the ATM machine was up!
    I've honestly spent close to or even over $100000 in 4 years.
    I've recently started borrowing money off friends!
    I'm a high income earner and in a stressful managerial job so the pokies are a great stress relief
    But $3000 tonight... has really got me down and I can't shake this feeling tonight ...
    No one knows about my gambling issues except the workers at the venue who see me continually going back to pull more money out!
    I feel like an absolute disaster tonight ....I should know better but I ding
    1 x
    pamela

Re: Feeling so bad..

Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:45 pm

Good on you for recognising your problem and coming here.
    Firstly,ditch your cards so you can't withdraw money
    Or..if you have a friend or family member you can confide in..ask them to hang on to your cards
    If your job is stressful..try the gym ..or walking ..or the movies..anything but the Pokies
    Put some strategies in place when you get paid so the need to play is minimised
    Good luck
    1 x
    Laydar

Fri Jun 21, 2019 5:52 am