" "

Day 1 starting over again, for like the umpteenth time

Discuss and ask questions, offer advice, and share your story in here. If you are new to the site drop in and say hello!

Day 1 starting over again, for like the umpteenth time

Postby Menz199 » Sat Dec 23, 2017 7:36 am

Hi all
So I've been gambling for the last 4 years and lost more money than I can imagine, I'm 21 almost 22.

It all started with online poker, originally it was just a few dollars here and there, but over time it became more and more, until I kept running out of money. Then I was squeezing every dollar I could to find my problem.
Thankfully since the government
Banned online poker in September this has stopped.

But now I've turned to pokies and blackjack to soothe my cravings.

I really want to stop, I just find it so hard, this year I was gamble free for 3 months, and that felt like a huge achievement for me.

But since then, I thought, to myself why not, I was in a town far away from anyone, so there was no thought of guilt, or stress, so I went to the nearest club and started gambling, and since then the horried, evil obsession has taken back my life, and I've been gambling 4 out of 7 days a week.

I've used self-exclusion in the past, and found it quite helpful, and I've restarted it again.

I am looking to go back to GA meetings next year, as I started avoiding them, because of the guilt factor.

But another thing I'm ashamed of is why can't I ever be honest with my loved ones, I never tell them, and they only find out when things have snowballed into chaos.

Just why I ask myself, why do I let it get this bad before I seek help.

I have more debt than I imagine but thankfully mum and I set up a joint account in which my pay goes into so, it has slowly built up, and I can soon start paying back debts.

I've also started the 100 day challenge so that is something into which I can vent my personal frustrations, as well as on here.