Welcome to our online peer support community - A supportive place for anyone making change in their gambling, as well as concerned friends and family.
  • Connect, be inspired, motivate others. Share your experience & strategies.
  • Safe. Anonymous. Professionally monitored. Free of judgement.

To join the discussion, sign up today.
    Join us Tuesdays at 8pm - 10pm AEST for Chatty Tuesday.
  • Tomorrow is Day 1

For those taking the 100 Day Challenge. Share your journey, seek support and track your progress here!
    Eesamay

Tomorrow is Day 1

Sun Jan 10, 2021 6:40 pm

I’m new to this group and keen to see if it can help me overcome my crazy urges to visit those shiny machines.

I’ve been gambling on the pokies for the last 12 years or so. I started when I was going through a divorce and had a nice amount of disposable income (at least that’s what I always told myself- heaven forbid I actually saved the money) and a very flexible schedule.

For me it was definitely a way to just shut everyone out for awhile. I didn’t have to talk to anyone or think about anything. The wins were addictive yet the money didn’t really seem to hold a lot of value- I would just keep feeding the machine without thinking about it.

When I moved to Australia (Im from the States) it got even worse because you could win so much more and the majority of the pubs had the machines which made it so easy. Over about 4 years I had some real big wins- even put down $15k deposit for a new car from one of my winnings but I can’t even count how much I’ve actually spent. Far more than I have won I’m sure of it.