Welcome to our online peer support community - A supportive place for anyone making change in their gambling, as well as concerned friends and family.
  • Connect, be inspired, motivate others. Share your experience & strategies.
  • Safe. Confidential. Professionally moderated. Free of judgement.

Before you can post or reply, join our online community today.

On now:
  • Sunlight September challenge - getting outdoors to improve mental wellness.
  • Q&A with a gambling counsellor - what's stopping you from seeking support?
  • HELP!! Fiance has just admitted his gambling problem

Is someone you care about experiencing issues with gambling? Come in here to discuss your concerns, connect, and get some helpful tips.
    Penny1

HELP!! Fiance has just admitted his gambling problem

Fri Dec 13, 2013 10:42 am

Hello there

I am new to all this. My fiance has recently admitted he has a gambling problem and wants to get help. Firstly I am thankful he has recognised the problem and proud of him to be able to tell me. But what the hell do I do now?? I don't think I can cope!!

We have had a very difficult year. He tried to commit suicide earlier this year and I found him when I got back from work. He was rushed to hospital and stayed the night then was transferred to a mental health hospital for a week. They allowed him to be discharged with a intensive home treatment team but I really didn't feel ready to have him home at that point.