Welcome to our online peer support community - A supportive place for anyone making change in their gambling, as well as concerned friends and family.
  • Connect, be inspired, motivate others. Share your experience & strategies.
  • Safe. Anonymous. Professionally monitored. Free of judgement.

To join the discussion, sign up today.
    Join us Tuesdays at 8pm - 10pm AEST for Chatty Tuesday.
  • Feeling lost

Is someone you care about experiencing issues with gambling? Come in here to discuss your concerns, connect, and get some helpful tips.
    List

Feeling lost

Tue Oct 08, 2019 9:00 pm

Hi, I am new to this and trying to get my head around everything.
    I am with a gambler. He likes keno and poker machines but mostly keno.
    We have been together for 4 years. When we first got together he would borrow money off me to help his sister or mum but the money was always returned the next day. I was confused but never thought anything more of it. I realise now that he was constantly borrowing from cash converters and needed money from me to pay off the last of his loans so he could get a new one, hence paying me back straight away. We moved in with one another and things seemed to get better. Then we broke up for a few months. When we got back together, he hid the fact that when we were apart, he took our $16,000 in loans from cash converters. I have been supporting him while he pays everything back. His mum also constantly lends him money behind my back - money he tells her we will pay back.
    He has been trying to clear off his loans in order to consolidate a big loan he took out before we met. I have been helping him and in turn have put myself in debt to help clear his accounts as I know this loan will help both of us (we need a new car)