Just found out my partner has a gambling problem

Is someone you care about experiencing issues with gambling? Come in here to discuss your concerns and get some helpful tips.

Re: Just found out my partner has a gambling problem

Postby DesperateWife » Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:42 pm

Hi PGambles,

I’m sorry to hear that you’re in this situation. It would be really hard to have him promise to stop multiple times and then keep doing it.

I only found out my husband has a gambling problem two weeks ago so I’m very new at this, but my suggestion would be to put some solid plans in place to help him stop. He needs to be committed to the process of tackling his addiction, of course. If he is, some of the things that could be done are:
1) You take control of the finances or, at the very least, make sure you have easy access to the bank accounts so you can see what’s going in and out.
2) He probably needs professional help as this seems like an ongoing problem.
3) He could exclude himself from the places he regularly gambles.
4) I’m going to get my husband to tell the family because I feel like these problems feed off secrecy.

I really hope that he gains control over this problem and he takes the steps he needs to so he can stop.

Keep posting because we’re all here to support you.
DesperateWife

Re: Just found out my partner has a gambling problem

Postby Mona58 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:11 am

Hi PGambles'

Really sorry you are in this situation.

All I can suggest is to call the Gamb helpline on 1800 858 858 and they will provide advice and moral support on how to deal with the situation.

Mona
A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.~Confucius
Mona58

Just found out my partner has a gambling problem

Postby PGambles » Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:37 am

My partner and I have been together nearly 4 years I knew when we got together he enjoyed to put a little bit on the pokies like $20 here or there whenever we went into town.