Welcome to our online peer support community!
This is a place for anyone affected by problems relating to gambling - those with lived experience & friends and family.

• Share your experience & strategies.
  • Connect, be inspired, motivate others.
  • Safe. Confidential. Professionally moderated. Free of judgement.

Join the discussion today!
  • Advice please

This forum is designed for you to chart your progress in working to overcome your gambling concerns and your oning recovery. Take us all on your road to recovery!
    Suzy

Advice please

Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:29 pm

Hi, I'm new to all this but wanted to share my story here. I haven't gambled for 63 days after having a problem with the pokies for 12 years. Am feeling great but nervous about slipping up..... yesterday I went had a drink with my husband at the club. It's the first time I've been in there since I stopped. My husband suggested it and I have been talking with my counselor about building up to having a go at going in. My counselor and I have been talking about doing it step by step and am not sure if I should have gone yesterday. Any feedback would be great to hear. Am terrified I've done the wrong thing...
    0 x
    dittogirl

RE: Advice please

Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:18 am

Hey Suzy

how did it go? you don't say what it was like when you went? Did it go ok or did you feel like gambling?
    0 x
    Daniel

Mon Nov 26, 2012 8:56 pm

Hi Suzy,

Just read about going near a venue again...and hopefully your husband would understand that it isn't a great idea..actually, its a terrible idea!! Sorry to sound so harsh but the temptation will continue to be there if you are exposed to it. Get him to take you to a coffee shop, see a band, go to a movie but please avoid the pokies or anywhere near there.