" "

The Power Of the Pokies

Discuss and ask questions, offer advice, and share your story in here. If you are new to the site drop in and say hello!

The Power Of the Pokies

Postby Marcol » Tue May 15, 2018 11:56 am

Hi all. Came across this website today after trying so many things to stop my addiction to Pokies and thought “why not”
I have been playing for nearly 30 years and since moving to Australia and finding these machines with Insaine Jackpot amounts - my habit has turned into a full on unstoppable addiction.

I type here while at work after yet another crazy loss and I was inspired by a blog written by “desperate” last year - I wonder how she got on in the end.

Anyway I know many are in the same position as me - in massive debt, hiding from loved ones, feeling isolated while trying to remain normal to others, tears in the bathroom (and yes 48 year old males can cry as well!) and just no direction. But no matter what people say or share - one still feels like they are in their own because they have to deal with the addiction all day long in abnormal environment.

Last year with the help of counselling I stoped playing for 100 days so I know it can be done but it took a few beers one Christmas evening and the barriers were down.

I urge and reenforce what so may say and that is the one visit to the pokies and your back there again and again. Even if you say to yourself you won’t be. So please read this paragraph over and over

I would like to point out a few things I observe -
Who looks happy in the pokie room - take a look next time. Yes someone might be winning - a group of lads cheering with their beer - but look closely at the regualars - even when they win - it’s emotionless. We are lost inside the hypnotic lights that the gangsters who own the machines have so cleverly designed.

2- Nice of the pub to conveniently place a lovely discreet ATM in the corner of the room (or by the toilets) - $2.50 per withdrawal please sir