" "

My story - looking for advice

Discuss and ask questions, offer advice, and share your story in here. If you are new to the site drop in and say hello!

My story - looking for advice

Postby Oregon » Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:25 pm

Hi all,

New to this today and just reading some of the stories has helped me already. Just played the pokies for (hopefully) the last time ever.
I'm 30 and I've been playing the pokies for about 5 years. I've lost all my savings, have a huge credit card debt and owe friends and family even more.
Always the same game with the same bet amount.
When I get behind I just think one good spin will win it all back.
When I was running low on money I would think a good win will get me back on track
About a year and a half ago I started to get on top of it, I got a second job to help try to repay the money and without that financial stress things were going good. Then I got my girlfriend pregnant accidentally, and I love my son more than anything. But the stress of providing for a family on top of the debts has caused me to start gambling again.
Self exclusion won't work because I visit pubs and clubs from all over Sydney.

Does anyone have any tips on how to limit the amount of money you have available to gamble with? Mostly my gambling is very impulsive - I'll have an hour or two to spare and find a venue to play and I can lose hundreds of dollars in no time. Has anyone found a clever way of setting up bank accounts so you literally don't have access to the money you need to gamble? Or should I just leave the card in the drawer and carry a small amount of cash... Any ideas would be helpful thanks.
Gamble free since 22.01.18
Oregon

Re: My story - looking for advice

Postby Jeddie » Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:55 pm