" "

My story

Discuss and ask questions, offer advice, and share your story in here. If you are new to the site drop in and say hello!

My story

Postby Pikey94 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:00 pm

Hey guys,

This is my first time posting here so I just wanted to share my story.

Ive been gambling for probably 5-6 months now on online websites. At first it was just with small amounts but I started getting bored and started betting with bigger amounts. When I lost, I would bet again to try to get those losses back. This worked for a while but when it didnt work, I lost all my savings. I had a holiday coming up in america about 2-3 months from this point so I told myself that if I make 'x dollars' per day, I would have enough spending money for the trip. Over those next few months I kept losing and losing money. I took out a credit card which I have now maxed out and also took out some centrelink payments. Just before the trip to America, I was out of money so I asked my dad for a $2k loan which I used for the trip. During the trip I kept gambling and was actually $3.3k up at one point. I got greedy and eventually lost all that and now have nothing left.

I have realised that gambling is not the way to pay off my debts and I am going to try to stop gambling from now on. I am also thinking of telling my parents about my situation but I'm not sure how to do it. I am crying right now at the thought of their reaction. Any advice?
Pikey94

Re: My story

Postby Mona58 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:28 pm

welcome Pikey.
I am new to the site too and have not yet wrote up my story but spent much of the day reading many inspirational posts. It is payday tomorrow and I was terrified of it yesterday ... today I am still scared but feel a bit stronger after a really really good cry this morning and reading the posts and doing the badges.
Good luck and be strong,
A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.~Confucius
Mona58

Postby GGme » Mon Oct 16, 2017 10:09 pm

Hey Pikey,