" "

My mum is addicted

Is someone you care about experiencing issues with gambling? Come in here to discuss your concerns and get some helpful tips.

My mum is addicted

Postby Meelybug29 » Fri Jun 30, 2017 1:11 pm

Hi. This is my first time reaching out for help. I feel like my mum's addiction is getting worse and in the risk of tearing our family apart.

My mum's addiction is with the pokies.
She has a habit of spending hundreds in a night and not having any money to pay bills. For a while now she has asked my siblings and I for money to help her out, but it's growing out of control.
We used to be able to talk to my dad about her problem but he's started backing her up lately so it's hard to get help.
My brother and sister still live at home so they get asked to hand over money a lot. Mum has told them in the past that they can say no, but when they refuse her she gets angry and bullies them into handing the money over.
The other day she complained about not having money for bills and wished my siblings would help. Then that night she asked my sister for the same figure as the bill, but to take out and spend on the pokies instead. My sister got pretty upset about it and wanted to refuse but knew mum would guilt her into doing it anyway. So she handed it over reluctantly and mum blew up anyway. She said that my sister was acting like a spoilt brat and that it's none of her business what happens with that money. She tried to confide in dad about the situation but he just went and blabbed to mum which just escalated the whole ordeal.
My 18yr old brother has been giving quite a lot over since he got a full time job. He finds it hard because he just wants it to be over and doesn't like conflict. The one time he refused, my dad went and told him it would "get real" if he doesn't transfer the money asap.

I'm finding it really hard to help them because I live 6hrs away.
We feel like if we try and talk to mum about anything we will go off and it'll be all our fault.