" "

When You Break

This forum is designed for you to chart your progress in working to overcome your gambling concerns and your ongoing recovery. Take us all on your road to recovery!

When You Break

Postby JamesC » Sun Jan 15, 2017 1:55 pm

I started the 100-day challenge again recently, having gone back to the pokies after a long lull. Like so many others, I started with the best intentions and full of intent to stay away from the machines. But less than a week into the new regime, I strayed back to the pub at lunchtime to initially blow the $90 in my wallet, then $200 I pulled out of the nearby auto-teller and then another $200. I recovered just over half of it, but walked out filled with the familiar cocktail of emotions - self-recrimination, regret, guilt, shame and disgust.

I'm a professional man, in my 50s, well educated, should know better, DO know better. So why do I continue putting myself through this ordeal. The consequences are all bad. On this particular occasion, I was away from work for three hours and missed an important meeting. I had to juggle the family finances and invent elaborate excuses for the missing cash. I awoke in the middle of the night questioning my sanity. I thought of all the therapy I have been through and the research I had read on gambling addiction and the built-in design in gambling machines that draws people in and keeps them playing. What do you do? How do you overcome it?

And practically speaking, when you break, do you start the 100 days all over again.

Yours in shame and regret.

James
Too much else to live for than destroying myself gambling.
JamesC

Re: When You Break

Postby annnie » Sun Jan 15, 2017 3:13 pm

Hi,

No cash no play.

Hope you are able to get support within your family and through this site. Please remember you are not the only one, we are all going through or have been through the same emotional rollercoaster, stress, sleepless nights, etc etc etc.